Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-10-2013, 11:16 AM

6 posts, read 5,828 times

Advertisements

I am currently a student at a university in England and next September I will be taking part in an international exchange program for a year, as part of my degree. I have been told these universities are my options:

Notre Dame
Vanderbilt*
Stetson
St Olaf College
Hunter College CUNY
University of New Mexico
University of Oklahoma
UCLA*
UCSD
UCB*
UCI
UCSB
UC Merced
Georgetown*
University of Arizona

I have to pick 3 choices and I really would like to study in NYC. But I'd imagine this is competitive, so I'd have to look at my 2nd choice as my first. I have no idea where to go, so could you please help me?

NB: Those universities with an asterisk next mean they are limited availability and go to the highest-scoring students (which I am just outside of ).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-10-2013, 12:03 PM

1,571 posts, read 2,817,497 times
What are you studying? That might influence where people suggest you go.

Old 07-10-2013, 12:06 PM

2,515 posts, read 5,025,495 times
You want NYC, so Hunter College is obvious. Of the rest, the ones with the asterisks are generally the most urban, the most like NYC. Since those are out, the most metropolitan of the rest would be UCSD and UCI. They're in southern California, which is different from NYC, but both schools are in large metro areas. The other schools are in smaller cities, some of them very small.