Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2013, 05:14 AM

5,743 posts, read 17,602,968 times

Advertisements

I'm a software engineer. It seems like for every interview I have, there is some type of test given to see how good you are at programming in a particular language. Some even give puzzles (e.g., a train is travelling down the tracks at 30 mph. . . ). I hate these tests because you are invariably asked to stand up at a whiteboard and work out your answers while multiple sets of eyes bore into the back of your head. Why is it important for a software engineer to solve problems under pressure/scrutiny?

What other occupations have competency tests? Are surgeons brought into a room with a cadaver and asked to remove the gall bladder? Are pilots put in a flight simulator and asked to land a Super 80? Are grocery store clerks put on the line and asked to checkout some customers?

I was talking to a friend of mine last night, who happens to be a manager, and he said his interviews are usually just talking back and forth about the company and his accomplishments. How nice that would be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2013, 07:52 AM

Location: East of Seattle since 1992, 615' Elevation, Zone 8b - originally from SF Bay Area
44,585 posts, read 81,186,228 times