Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-11-2015, 08:38 AM

16 posts, read 14,771 times

Advertisements

Hey. I am 27 and live in Metro Detroit. I work for a factory for one of the big 3 companies so I have 7 years manufacturing experience. I have an aunt that lives in a town called El Segundo in LA and I can stay with her if I moved out there. I see that LA tops the list for manufacturing jobs in America, which is surprising actually. I would love to work a factory job and live in SoCal (especially rent free at first!) but I just wanted to know if anyone had experience with this area of work. I don't speak Spanish and won't learn (disinterest, and principle) so does this basically disqualify me from these jobs? What's the pay like? I don't have expertise in any other field.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-11-2015, 10:20 AM

8,338 posts, read 6,423,253 times
I was a machinist during the heyday of the aerospace industry here in southern Calif. As a machinist experience is everything and today knowing how to program CNC is required. The Democrats who wholly run this state have driven most of the manufacturing jobs to other states, Its not at all like it used to be.

Old 02-11-2015, 11:51 AM

1,238 posts, read 1,829,916 times
When you say metro Detroit, what part? Because if it's the suburbs or anywhere in Oakland County, I would just say stay based on what you've said above.

Old 02-11-2015, 11:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpeeps View Post