Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-18-2015, 06:52 AM

5 posts, read 4,105 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

I wanted some advice on what to do. I got a ticket in upstate New York the past weekend, for going 81 in a 65. I hold a NJ license, from what I read this is a 4 point ticket (1180D). (Can someone confirm if this is 4 points?) I also read online since I am a NJ driver I will only get 2 points on my license (Can someone confirm this as well?) I don't want any points on my license as I don't want my insurance to go up. I haven't gotten a ticket in over 5 years. So because I don't want points just paying the ticket by mail is out of the question. The other 2 options are show up in court and work a deal with the prosecutor Or get an attorney. What do you guys think is the better option? Do I have a chance of getting this down to 0 points, I'm not to concerned about the fine I have to pay is this possible without a lawyer. Any advice on what I should do? Is it better to go with a lawyer or alone? I got this ticket in Randolph, NY in Cattaraugus County. So if anyone can recommend a lawyer that would be great as well.

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2015, 06:59 AM

4,073 posts, read 8,981,886 times
If you don't get NY to drop it as a moving violation, you will get 2 points in NJ.

State of New Jersey - Motor Vehicle Commission

As to fighting the ticket, some might have advice here, but you'd probably do better with local knowledge from someone in a NY forum.