Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-05-2008, 08:39 AM

842 posts, read 2,588,457 times

Advertisements

Guys,

I need every bit of advice that you may be able to give to me. I have been trying to relocate to your beautiful State of North Carolina for the longest while, but have been experiencing very little or no success in doing so. I have now gotten to the point where I am second guessing my entire strategy and becoming down at times. I am a Network Engineer and was laid off from my job in New York around mid December. I saw it as a blessing in disguise in that I was rid of a very stressful and unhappy situation with all the time now to focus on obtaining a job in NC before moving down to the area. My first preference is Raleigh/Durham, but also opened the door to Charlotte as well. I have had a few close calls in terms of obtaining a job, but on two of those three occasions I lost out to an "Internal Candidate". The last employer is a well known financial institution who flew me down to Charlotte for an interview which even they agreed went very well ....BUT .... well you know the rest.