Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Mother`s Day to all Moms!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oklahoma
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-28-2015, 12:01 PM

3 posts, read 15,272 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I am moving to North Dallas (Plano), TX from Kansas City, KS and I am new to the region totally. I will be driving my car with my family and staying night at hotel nearby the route. Can someone suggest me the best route from Kansas City to North Dallas and typical toll expenses (and how do I pay it ? buy pass in advance or pay at toll booth) ? I was told it can be expensive, but I am OK to pay like $30 or so till I reach Dallas.
I was thinking about this route.
1. Kansas City -> Wichita -> Oklahoma City ( mostly I-35 S )
2. Oklahoma City -> Plano ( I-35 )
I prefer to drive on interstate due to increased speed limit, access to gas, hotel, restaurant, and very importantly to garage in case of car breakdown.

Google maps shows another route, Kansas City to Plano (via Fort Scott KS, McAlester TX) on US-69 S, which is 90 miles less than Oklahoma route. But I am not sure about availability of gas, hotel etc.

Any suggestions, inputs are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Kris

Last edited by bkris982; 08-28-2015 at 12:11 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-28-2015, 01:23 PM

1,812 posts, read 2,222,203 times
How far apart do you think KC and Dallas are? You're going to stop overnight in middle of a seven hour drive? If you leave Kansas City at nine you will be in Plano before dinner.