Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Orlando
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-07-2007, 12:27 PM

15 posts, read 59,431 times

Advertisements

Hi all,
I'm relatively new to the board & town. So far, this board seems rather informative -- so thanks!

Here's a question for you. I'm a little new to the concept of HOA's -- especially after either owning my own place outright or being a renter for many years.

We live in a "condo community" and obviously have a board in place. There is a monthly fee that is supposed to cover property maintenance.

Here's are a few questions. And I apologize if this post is long, but trying to gather up as much info as I can.

1. What the average monthly for a HOA? Ours is $200 a month & honestly for the area, the property value & the average income of the folks that live here...seems a bit high.

2. Is there a governing body in this state that you can complain to when you think your HOA is abusing their powers?

3. Does anyone have an example of a typical HOA budget; i.e., what their monthly costs/expenses are?

4. Is it usual or unusual for a HOA to have a full or part time person working in the office?

Anyways, I'm trying to do a bit of info gathering as we are having issues with our HOA. While I recognize these committees are run by homeowners, there is always a danger when inexperienced (altho well-meaning) individuals run what is essentially a non-profit business.

TIA!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-07-2007, 11:33 PM

55 posts, read 234,069 times