Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Orlando
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-01-2021, 11:00 PM

10 posts, read 9,925 times

Advertisements

I am buying a house which has 7K sqft of back yard space, and I am considering building a small detached house in this lot for relatives or renters to live.

I'd like to get a rough idea of:

1. Whether the city would allow such a thing
2. What would be a very rough breakdown of the costs, including any permits,
3. How long this would take

I have no experience with this and have no idea where to start.

I found the following website:
https://www.orlando.gov/Building-Dev...-Dwelling-Unit

While trying to determine the zoning district, I find that there seems to be no zoning information. Is this because the lot sits on unincorporated land? What rules apply in this case?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2021, 06:03 AM

3,262 posts, read 4,998,620 times
If your lot is in unincorporated Orange County (as opposed to within city limits of Orlando, Winter Park, etc.), you need to check the county's website rather than the city's.

Here's a link to the Orange County zoning division: https://www.orangecountyfl.net/Permi...x#.YBlNTGhAq5c

Old 02-02-2021, 03:29 PM

2,939 posts, read 4,124,253 times
If you type Orlando, FL into Google maps it will show you the municipal boundaries. There are other cities in the county but a majority of people in OC live in unincorporated county areas. If you post the name of the neighborhood I can help you find the zoning regs.

Old 02-03-2021, 12:07 PM