Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-06-2011, 08:23 PM

26 posts, read 39,329 times

Advertisements

So I'm a college student from South Jersey, in DC for college, looking at Philly suburbs as a place to settle down in the near future. My boyfriend and I want to start a family, but we are unsure where is best. We've visited a few places but need some input.

What we are looking for;
Walkable area. I'm from a small town where you could walk everywhere, and it was residential around a small downtown with a few shops. I couldn't live somewhere that sprawled out endlessly with strip malls and stuff. No McMansions either!!

Good schools. I am not concerned with having "the best" schools, I just want a solid education for my future kids (as in, planning for next 10-20 years).

SEPTA accessible. But not crazy far away, which leads into;

Short-ish commute. I know the Philly commutes can be horrendous depending on where you live and SEPTA kinda has a mind of its own, but I'd prefer to stick close by. At most a 20-30 minute commute is acceptable. The commute from my home town to Center City, Philly was only 10 minutes hahah I have high standards (<3 PATCO!). I'd be looking to get a job in Center City.

I want a HOUSE, not a condo, penthouse, or whatever. I want a 3-4 bedroom, 1-2 bathroom with a front and back yard, sidewalks, and a park within walking distance. Maybe this is a lot to ask for but where I am from, this stuff is plentiful. Problem is, jobs aren't plentiful there