Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-20-2011, 04:26 PM

56 posts, read 108,730 times

Advertisements

Like many NJ residents I'm a looking to get out! I'm a teacher, but pursuing Principal/Supervisor positions now. The climate in our field has gotten very bad, pension system is absolutely scary. My wife and I have a 5 year plan to have a kid and then relocate across the river to PA. Seems like Bucks, Montgomery, Delaware, and Chester counties have very nice areas and some great schools.

It's hard to tell, but are there much differences between these counties? I like having things convenient to me, just not to the umpteenth degree like we have in NJ. I mean I can drive 20 minutes and hit 3 malls. I have supermarkets galore within 5 miles...I don't need THAT much convenience. Does any county stick out more than another in terms of good schools, good housing, reasonable taxes (I pay $7,000 for a 3 bed, 1.5 bath ranch, .25 acre---not large by any means), and convenience to downtown Philly for an occasional night out? To be honest, I like townie bars anyway, but knowing you are fairly close to the city is nice.

Thanks board!

Doug
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-20-2011, 04:36 PM

7,780 posts, read 21,880,174 times