Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-15-2010, 04:48 AM

10 posts, read 15,867 times

Advertisements

Good morning,I am a French student in Paris,currently involved in a research work for my university.My goal is to study marketing practices and strategies set up by cities,linked to sustainable development and figures out the contradictions between the ambitions of cities and their reality.Im focussing on Metro Portland.I will come to the city soon.

Is anyone could tell me more about sustainable development projects in Portland ? Do you see some contradictions (such as high unemployment rates,lack of diversity...) that could question the image generally given of a sustainable city ?

Thanks for your Help !!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-15-2010, 12:52 PM

10,990 posts, read 20,567,401 times
You really need to define "sustainable development".

If you mean construction contact the local office of the AIA to line up a couple interviews. Locate a couple land use planners, people involved in urban growth boundaries, zoning - interview them.

Compared to Europe US public transportation systems are inefficient but you might compare what Portland has done to Seattle (the nearest large city) or to another US city of our size.