Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 10:15 AM

159 posts, read 409,191 times

Advertisements

What I have learned about Portland is that you cant judge a city by what others say from afar nor can you believe everything you read about a city from a message board. Sorry posters its true. Before I moved out here to Portland I had heard how difficult it would be for me to get an apartment because I was an unemployed college student but in reality that was far from the truth. I moved into an apartment within two weeks of being out here and my landlord was very nice and accommodating.

No, I don't live in one of the better neighborhoods in North and inner southeast Portland, but I feel comfortable and very safe in the apartment community where I reside. I live along Burnside and I hear police sirens all the time, even more than I heard in my 34 years living in Chicago ironically enough, but for the most part the neighborhood is decent and I haven't had any negative experiences thus far.

I noticed that the further in parts of Portland are very hip and reminds me of the young hipper areas of NYC and Chicago, but the farther out you go into southeast and east Portland near Gresham can feel very hickish like living in Terra Haute or Fort Wayne Indiana. Its different for me because being from Chicago its not an environment that I have a lot of experience in but I haven't had any problems thus far knock on wood.