Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-22-2013, 04:07 PM

24 posts, read 37,273 times

Advertisements

Please excuse my ignorance, I have been renting for the last 16 years and we are now looking to buy a new construction house somewhere in the Triangle.

I have seen on here by posters that many of the local custom builders here don't have financing. What does that mean? I thought you can just get a loan from the bank or wherever for the house, since the builder usually owns parcels of land that they build on. I am not looking to buy my own land and bring a builder onto it -this requires a construction loan ---> permanent loan, correct?

I am just asking, because I have thought about looking into Wardson Builders, Jordanbuilt, Rice, etc in addition to looking at the big people like Drees, ForeverHome, Pulte, etc. Since Wardson, Jordanbuilt, etc are local builders, what kind of financing are we talking about -not just a regular loan from a bank? (Although Jordanbuilt has a financing section on their website but no information). Wardson also has land that you pick to build on, so how is this any different from Pulte and the others? Our price range is around 600k, so that's I have been looking into local builders in addition to the other national ones.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-22-2013, 04:10 PM

513 posts, read 1,605,368 times