Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 06:50 PM

2 posts, read 1,674 times

Advertisements

For the last year or so I've been thinking about moving away. Right now, I am still a college student (one semester left, graduating in May of 2011) and living with my mother (chose to stay home to save money) while in school. Almost my entire family is here (some in GA, AK, TX) and to be honest I am not sure how I would feel if I moved away from them.

I live in Massachusetts, but I really don't want to be here anymore. Although I've never been to North Carolina, I do plan to visit (maybe during winter break) to see if I like it. But I would like some advice about two or three things (I'd really appreciate it!) that I'm curious about.

I'm only 21 (22 in about a week) and I've never lived on my own. So, would it be a good idea to move out of state and so far away my first time out?

What are good places to live if you're a recent graduate?

If anyone has moved away from their families to a different state, how difficult is it?

Thank you in advance for any advice you have for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-20-2010, 06:57 PM

6,297 posts, read 16,102,859 times
I don't think you're ready yet.

It's very difficult to be on your own far from everything and everyone you've known and loved.

I moved as an adult without knowing a soul, but the economy was better, and I had my two kids, two dogs, and two birds.

It was still challenging.