Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-31-2016, 09:59 PM

3 posts, read 2,705 times

Advertisements

* #40 * * *
Today, 11:51 PM
Suavae11

1 posts

I'm an apartment manager and I've only been there for a few weeks.. In this time frame I gotten several calls about shooting in the neighborhood but nobody called law enforcement. I've also gotten lots of complaints about children loitering and vandalism to tenants property and being out pass 11:00pm. Can anybody give some facts of how I should address the issue? I want the children to be safe and I also want residents to be comfortable about their household without worrying about vandalism oh and theft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-31-2016, 10:31 PM

18,813 posts, read 32,505,733 times
I learned the hard way not to get involved. You can end up hurt. The owner I worked for actually had a resident manager die after an altercation between two tenants, where he tried to intervene. One of them hit him and when he fell he hit his head. He later died in the hospital. I was never hurt physically, but I let two tenants pull me into their drama. I should have told them to work it out, but not to disturb anyone else in the building or I'd have to kick them out. Instead, I tried playing the diplomatic auntie. Bad idea.