Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-31-2010, 02:58 PM

138 posts, read 512,035 times

Advertisements

I have been renting a raised ranch with a finished basement for 9 months. The house was rehabbed before we moved in. We found out from our neighbors that the broiler went out with the previous tenets while they were out of town in the winter. The pipes froze and burst and thats why the house was rehabbed. I was aggravated to find this out from neighbors and not my landlord himself. When I approached him about it he said, well its no secret. Well then why did YOU not tell me? Integrity down the drain if you ask me.

anyway a few months later right as it starts to get cold he gets the broiler replaced (uh would have done this first!) anyway the installer messed up and water came in from the garage and into the basement. The carpet/pad was soaked. My LL went NUTS on this poor guy, I mean yelling and yelling here. eventually the carpet tacking and pad were replaced and the carpet cleaned at the installers expense.