Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-03-2015, 04:56 PM

19,480 posts, read 25,172,091 times

Advertisements

I'm a teacher, officially "retired" at age 58, but still working almost five days per week as a substitute teacher because I need the money. My salary is about 20% of my previous salary, however it about also much, much less stress. I'll turn 63 soon and hope to work, as a substitute, as long as I can before my health totally gives out.

For most of my career I saw teachers who were still productive and healthy being forced out once they hit their middle 60s, even if they wanted to stay. They would then be replaced by someone right out of college for 1/3 the salary. About a dozen or so years ago my district started to push out most of the teachers in their early 60s. Perhaps eight or ten years ago they started to push out teachers in their late 50s. About five years ago they started pushing out many teachers were only in their mid-50s. These teachers were too young to get their state pensions.

Recently my former school district has been targeting some teachers in their middle and late 40s as being "too old" to be effective teachers.

Sure the district saves money on salaries but, IMHO, the overall quality of the education has gone down. And administration wonders why the test scores are decreasing rather than increasing.