Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-19-2015, 07:13 AM

15,253 posts, read 13,020,996 times

Advertisements

I have been working on our retirement plan for more than five years now, probably the same way most people do it: Drawing up financial projections, tracking our net worth each year, looking for the one place both of us would be most likely to be happy. I'm still zeroing in on that last but getting closer.

This September will be our fourth vacation trip to Arizona. We've ruled out places and situations that initially we thought would be ideal, given our interests, only to see the reality for ourselves.

My husband is the kind of guy who reserves his opinions and hates to commit, so sometimes it's hard to tell what he's thinking. I'll suggest a place to visit or talk about some research I've done and he'll say, "Mmm." With him that either means, "Sounds OK" or "I really don't want to but I won't risk getting into an argument over it." There have been times when I doubted if he really would retire, when push came to shove, much less leave the community where all his friends are. Actually, there have been a lot of those times!