Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-12-2012, 11:47 PM

490 posts, read 837,515 times

Advertisements

Hi - I have a BA degree majoring in something unrelated to my current job in the tech industry. My employer will pay for a CS degree, which is helpful to have if I want to advance in my career. I'd like to take advantage of this and get a 2nd BA in computer science. The problem is, some schools will not accept 2nd BA degree applicants, due to limited spaces, they have to give applicants getting their first degree priority. So it appears Sacramento State University is out as a viable option for me.

That leaves me with 2 other options of which I'm aware:

1. Community College to build credits towards my major, then find a 4-year university that will accept 2nd BA degree candidates and transfer there to complete the degree. The problem I'm running into with this is that over the past 2 semesters that I've tried to register for classes on the day my registration window opens, all of the CS courses I want to take are filled, waitlisted, and CLOSED - this includes both in-class and online.

2. Devry (no 2nd BA degree restriction, online classes will be more flexible since I work full-time and I shouldn't run into problems registering for classes. The downside is I don't think credits earned at Devry will be transferrable elsewhere.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for someone living in the Sacramento area?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-13-2012, 05:43 PM