Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-19-2014, 07:34 AM

1 posts, read 1,278 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I am 23 years old and I have inherited $100,000. I have about a total $20,000 in student loan debts with a 20 year repayment plan and interest for the loans is 2% or 3% - the payment comes out to about $220 a month.

I'm a new grad so I am making $16,000 a year right now. It's tempting to use the money for traveling while I am young and can enjoy it more without any responsibilities - but I also want to make sure I would have some in case of an emergency.

Regarding the debt, I also want to go back to grad school as well to enhance my career and my salary - but this will also incur a lot of debt as well. However, after I finish grad school I would be making a much higher salary too.

How do you think I should best use the money? How much should I invest, and at what rate should I pay off my debt? How often should I use some of the money I have to spend for something special, like traveling?

Many thanks for the help!

Last edited by thetiniestdancer; 10-19-2014 at 07:45 AM.. Reason: Just adding some more details!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-19-2014, 08:29 AM

10,090 posts, read 42,424,010 times
Why ask for financial advice on a San Diego. forum? Better advice and responses if you move this to the Financial Forum.

Old 10-19-2014, 08:36 AM

20,834 posts, read 17,106,096 times