Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-16-2013, 02:09 AM

15 posts, read 29,842 times

Advertisements

I moved to San diego 7 months ago. I don't regret it, it was a change I needed, but living here doesn't feel permanent. I grew up in the DC area and was there for most of my life. I had always dreamed of moving to California one day, and i was slowly getting tired of the crowd of people in DC. I'm a software engineer, I can find work anywhere so in that sense i'm blessed. I heard how laid back everyone was in SD, and that seemed like a relief from how pretentious people could be in DC, but jesus christ this is getting a little ridiculous. 9/10 people i meet are in some sort of service industry job/ hourly semi skilled contractor position. No one here seems to have a drive to better themselves at all, they just want to make their $9/hr come home get trashed and smoke 9 bowls. I feel like i'm constantly around 30 year old 18 year olds. I'm 26 myself and i consider myself pretty laid back, I like going out drinking and having a good time, but I can't have a good time when everyone is falling over themselves and slurring every word.