Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-14-2013, 01:26 PM

486 posts, read 1,255,890 times

Advertisements

I'm a Bay Area resident, but I don't go up to the city that often. When I do, I try to pick my time/dates to avoid crowds in the touristy areas.

I have family coming to visit over 4th of July, and the things on their "must" list are GG Bridge and GG Park. I know those places can get super crowded, so I was hoping for some general advice.

1. GG Bridge: I was thinking of hitting this up from the new Visitor Pavilion, which I believe is part of the Presidio? Any suggestions on where to park inside the Presidio?

2. GG Park: This is the larger challenge. I always park in the underground garage underneath the courtyard between the Academy of Sciences and De Young. But I've always gone during random weekday times, so haven't had a problem finding a spot. Will this be doable on 4th of July? Anywhere else to park in the Park? Seems to be street parking, not sure how feasible that will be.

Any suggestions on how to time our visit? Would Friday be a bit better for crowds? Or maybe it won't matter? I was thinking of going to the GG Bridge fairly early on Thursday (4th of July) at around 8 AM, then touring the Presidio, getting some lunch, and then going to GG Park at around 1 pm. Should I reverse that and go to GG Park in the morning instead?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-14-2013, 01:28 PM

102,211 posts, read 107,904,670 times