Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Space
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-14-2020, 11:01 PM

243 posts, read 264,455 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm an entry-level amateur astronomer. I'd like to get scope suitable for seeing at least local stars with some detail. However, I'd like to get one used off eBay and wouldn't be able to try it out before use. Is this a wise way to buy?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-15-2020, 04:14 AM

43,278 posts, read 77,083,054 times
Buy from a seller with a very high feedback score.
99.5% or higher. And, over 100 transactions.
Good sellers will work with you if there is an issue. They want positive feedback.

You have a lot of protections via eBay if the item is not exactly as described in the ad.
I have over 500 eBay purchases and have received full refunds several times.

Old 08-15-2020, 05:39 AM

14,394 posts, read 11,239,560 times
Reflector or refractor?

I'd bet money that any reflector, no matter how well packaged by the seller, will get jostled in shipment and will need to be collimated (aligned).

This is less likely to be an issue with a refractor.

I agree with Mike, if you have purchase protection there's little risk.

If you're in Brookline you are living in a very high light pollution area, so you won't see that much. Take a look at your area:

https://www.lightpollutionmap.info/#...FFFFTFFFFFFFFF

Are you able to take it out into a rural area? If not then maybe focus on the planets more than stars.

Old 08-15-2020, 05:59 AM