Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-09-2007, 08:27 AM

668 posts, read 682,234 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

Can anyone enlighten me in regards to the teaching situation in the SLC metro area? i.e. payscale, job market, unique state of Utah requirements, class sizes, parents, students, places needing teachers, personal experiences whatever.

I'm a veteran middle school teacher in Texas who is moving to your state this summer with my 16 year old son. Any info you can provide will be most appreciated.

Cheers,

Trebek
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-09-2007, 09:55 AM

1,125 posts, read 3,524,905 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebek View Post
Hi all,

Can anyone enlighten me in regards to the teaching situation in the SLC metro area? i.e. payscale, job market, unique state of Utah requirements, class sizes, parents, students, places needing teachers, personal experiences whatever.

I'm a veteran middle school teacher in Texas who is moving to your state this summer with my 16 year old son. Any info you can provide will be most appreciated.

Cheers,

Trebek
You might check thorough some of the other threads; this topic has been discussed several times. I can tell you that the pay scale for teachers in Utah is very low. Utah spends less per capita on education than nearly 95% of the other states, but it’s very high on the list related to SAT scores, high school graduation and college entry rates.