Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-17-2020, 08:28 AM

4 posts, read 10,673 times

Advertisements

Hello all! We are a young couple with 2 kids and one on the way living in rural Alabama. We have some family in New Hampshire and Vermont. We have visited a few times and been to old orchard beach ME. We have fallen in love with New England and are throwing around the idea of moving up there. I am a teacher and my husband works on light signals and does welding. He also has experience in water and sewer and also runs a landscaping business. He is very handy and loves to work. We are comparing these three states trying to find which is the best fit for us and our growing family. We want to live in a rural area, as we have a farm and plan to have a farm up there. We like community and do not want to be in or near a bit city. We would like to be close to a decent town , especially for work. Again, we want a farm so property and property taxes is a big deal for us. Which state do y'all think fits us best? We also love to be outdoors, mountains, and kid friendly things to do. But want to live comfortably and not have to work multiple jobs to survive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-17-2020, 08:38 AM

5,451 posts, read 4,049,655 times
Well, I am prejudiced toward VT since I live here! But I would think any of the three would be good. Southeastern NH is like a suburb of Boston, pretty built up. Other areas, you can be 5 minutes outside of a good sized town and be in a rural area.