Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-20-2013, 06:23 PM

34 posts, read 64,278 times

Advertisements

I'm going to be entering my last semester of college next
September. I will also be taking classes this summer. As I get
closer to graduation Im geting worried about the future. My major is liberal arts.
By liberal arts I mean that I've taken courses from a vareity of subjects such as history, English
Sociology ,political science ,art history,philosophy, humanities ,information studies ,music ,film studies
Biology and geography. I know that a this kind of major is good because of the skill
set a person develops but I've been reading a lot online about how liberal arts
grads never find work and are paid very little. I've thought about grad school but I don't
if I would have the GPA to get in and I've heard rumors that my desired field
(Library Science) dosent have a lot job prospects now and I worry that the library might be
shrinking. If there is anyone who was liberal arts major or who is a librarian can
you please shed some light on this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-20-2013, 08:58 PM

3,111 posts, read 8,056,744 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mimsja View Post
I'm going to be entering my last semester of college next
September. I will also be taking classes this summer. As I get
closer to graduation Im geting worried about the future. My major is liberal arts.
By liberal arts I mean that I've taken courses from a vareity of subjects such as history, English