Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Writing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-24-2014, 02:06 PM

558 posts, read 1,121,366 times

Advertisements

I'm curious. I'm an amateur screenwriter that is always noticing trends, and usually turned off by most of them. Lately I'm hearing a lot of people (many younger) pronouncing things different. I need to know if I have been saying the words wrong for 37 years, or what's going on.
Here is a couple, and please add some of your own if any come to mind. If I'm wrong in how I pronounce it please tell me.

Refinancing- I say it as it's spelled
REFA-NANCING- How I hear it in commercials lately.

Didn't- Hard to type how I say it but there's a bit of nasal use.
DID-DENT- How most young people are now saying it.
Same with Wouldn't, Couldn't, Shouldn't.

Louisville- Louieville is how I say it.
LOW-VOL- How millions say it, but I have no clue HOW they got it that far off.

So clear me up on this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-24-2014, 04:15 PM

42,554 posts, read 87,014,195 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Challenger76 View Post

Local people in Louisville pronounce it LOO-a-vull (rhymes with "dutiful"), and have browbeaten outsiders to say it that way, the way people do in OAR-i-gun and NAW-lins. It's NASH-vull, too. It hasn't happened yet in CHAWLZ-ton and ma-WAWK-y.

Old 01-24-2014, 04:52 PM

29,747 posts, read 34,409,851 times
Quote:
Are you talking about a glottal stop, like in "oh no she di'int"? I can't think of any other way to say it than "did-dent"

Quote: