Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-12-2011, 04:45 PM

404 posts, read 712,288 times

Advertisements

First off, let me say I am an extremely creative person. I have a B.S. in Business. My problem solving skills second to none, however I am at a point in my life where I need some navigation.

I graduated and entered the job market as a sales professional. Years later I went into tech. Before the great recession peaked in Nov 2008, I was paid over 50K to edit javascript code and html and put it into an adserver. I had to know several dashboards for various media companies. The title was called 'Ad Trafficker'

Laid off in Jan. 2009. Term of employment was about 3 years.

I immediately started learning .NET and studied for a year before I got stuck. My problem was that servers need to be running MS, and deployment for the purposes of testing was difficult. I put my .NET learning on hiatus.

From there I dabbled in LAMP, python, drupal, joomla, IT, etc.

I am hoping someone can provide advice as to what is the best direction to go. I have heard from the python/ruby people that .NET is a dying technology, and the MS people will always tell you that "windows runs the world".

I feel like mobile and security are the best places to look into right now. I just need some sort of plan, so I don't have to go back to making cold calls and end up a Willy Loman

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-12-2011, 09:03 PM

13,714 posts, read 31,180,231 times