Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-07-2010, 05:46 PM

2 posts, read 3,423 times

Advertisements

Hello,

My partner and I are moving to Chicago in July and are looking for some advice on neighborhoods. He will be a graduate student at University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) and I am a new graduate nurse. I have not yet found a job to know what hospital I will be working at, but we would like to be as close to downtown and UIC as possible. We would like to find a safe neighborhood, 2 bedroom apartment, easy and less than 30 minute commute to downtown, and rent not much more than $1200. Do you have any suggestions for neighborhoods?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-07-2010, 08:09 PM

1,325 posts, read 4,199,307 times
Hi there.
The second thread in this Chicago forum, "Read this...", has a lot of useful info for newcomers regarding neighborhoods, etc. You may want to check it out if you haven't already.

Personally, I don't care for the areas surrounding UIC and think you are wise to be open to living within 30 minutes of downtown. Not sure if you meant 30 minutes from UIC? Or the Loop? Since you don't have a job you may just mean you are planning to work downtown if possible.