Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cleveland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-27-2022, 09:09 AM

1,796 posts, read 2,228,125 times

Advertisements

I am a high school teacher in New Mexico that moved here from Cleveland about 9 years ago. This is year 28 for me and I can retire at 30, so in 2 1/2 years I can pull the trigger. I'm (only) 58 years old and even after retirement, plan to work in education (probably) in some capacity while I pull from my pension... have no desire to sit and whittle away during retirement.
My retirement plan only involves one final destination: NE Ohio. Why?
***Despite my enjoyment of my teaching career and friends here in New Mexico, it's never truly been home. I am reminded of this twice a year when I return to NE Ohio for extended vacations.
***I'm getting older and am in reasonably good shape, but I'm getting older and will need good doctors. I also know that New Mexico health care is subpar. Remember those old westerns where the cowboy cuts an X into his leg to suck the rattlesnake venom out? it's kind of like that. The idea of retiring in NE Ohio, with its world class medical care, is a no-brainer.
***Culture, Metroparks, CVNP, etc etc etc.
***Friends and family.

I need tips and advice: not about pensions or retirement lifestyle, but about how to economically pull off a CHEAP !!! retirement SPECIFICALLY in NE Ohio, particularly:
***government/non profit programs available for housing, esp. in the city. (Cuyahoga Land Bank, etc)
***55-and-older housing options