Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-25-2015, 09:30 AM

9,911 posts, read 7,699,445 times

Advertisements

Hi, bit of a background I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Justice and Law Administration. Worked five year's in healthcare 3 in the ER, a year in the OR, and close to 4 in Psych. I really enjoy Psych and can see myself doing work as a Psych nurse.

Been doing research regarding nursing school and the way to go is you need your BSN. I looked into accelerated program's, found one with a rolling admission. My only concern would be the crunching of all material in such short time period would cause me to fail.

I was then considering the ADN or BSN route. Concern with the ADN program is the dreaded wait list I hear about...average time has dropped for the college's since they changed the programs around...about 2 1/2 to 3 year wait time when wait listed. I am 28 would want to get started with nursing career sooner than later.

For the ADN program can complete my prerequisites next Spring can send my application in the following November for the CC program's able to apply to 3.

In November, can apply to the accelerated program as well.

Now my GPA from my previous degree isn't stellar so depending on my science courses to be my best reflection of my GPA.

Now the programs wouldn't finish until for the Accelerated Nursing Program until the Spring of 2018. The ADN program would finish at the end of Spring 2019.