U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 10-16-2008, 06:50 PM
 
175 posts, read 1,347,145 times
Reputation: 175

Advertisements

Hi everyone- I know extremely little about 'puters . I just bought an expensive Dell XPS series Desktop and I love it! BUT!! Sometimes I'll be on the internet when the following error box pops up "Error connecting to Broadband connecting. Connecting through WAN miniport (PPPOE) Error 815: The broadband network connection could not be established because the remote server is not responding....blah, blah, blah" What's going on?? I have AT&T DSL high-speed internet, before my old laptop died, I never had any problems like this. Is it the computer? OR what? Oh, also sometimes it says 'check Tools, make sure Work Offline is not checked'. So I look, and it's checked! I un-check it, but these same problems keep happening again and again. I have about 3 more days that I can return this computer....is it the computer? OR something else? Ideas please all you smart computer people??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-16-2008, 07:03 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,210 posts, read 18,493,942 times
Reputation: 8052
Sounds like "the remote server is not responding."

You should call ATT support before you consider returning the PC. There's nothing wrong with your desktop - this is a software issue. If you are using a new operating system (I'm guessing you went from XP on your old machine to Vista on this one), I can guarantee that you're not the first ATT customer to have encountered this problem - they'll be aware of it and probably have a solution.

If that doesn't work, let us know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-16-2008, 08:58 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,077,804 times
Reputation: 1632
Sometimes it's the weather causing little surges. The ISP has to get rid of your cache -- I forgot what they call that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top