Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 09-28-2017, 12:33 PM

8,390 posts, read 7,640,495 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsguy2001 View Post
I'm sure that's what the act says. But colleges don't always follow it that way, or at least they did not in the past. When I was a freshman in college (1997, quite a while after 1974), there was a student who was 17, and did not get along with his roommate. Since he was not yet 18, he was not allowed to switch to a different room unless his parents came to campus to sign a form. Since they lived out of state, several hours away, they were unable to do so. So, he was stuck with that roommate until his 18th birthday. The following year, there was a girl (not sure if she was 17 or 18, but you say it doesn't matter) whose parents got a call from the school, saying that she was using very few of her meal plan meals, and that they should switch her to a smaller meal plan. Her parents got the call since they were the ones paying for the meal plan. She was really upset, since she did not want her parents to know that she was skipping meals, and often eating off campus when she did eat.

Meal plans and roommate assignments are not academic records.

What's protected under FERPA are academic records -- things like grades, disciplinary actions, asking a professor for information about your kid's behavior in class, etc.