Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Europe
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 09:01 PM

197 posts, read 279,602 times

Advertisements

I live in the US, and for the last few years I've worked remotely (aka telecommute) to a job on the East Coast of the US. As long as I can get a reliable internet connection, my employer doesn't care where I live.

A friend suggested to me I should really take advantage of that and live in different places, for a few months or years at a time. I used to travel more when I was a college student, and always wanted to do it more.

I'm still sort of toying with the idea but....

If you had a budget of around $1,500 for a rent a month (about 1,385 euros, I believe), single and no children and no commute..... where would you live?

London? Paris? Barcelona? Rome? Berlin? Helsinki? Riga? I've traveled through the UK and Ireland, but it was years ago.

The issue of resident permits and taxes I think is a whole other situation. But imagine that's not such an issue, where would you live?

Last edited by IamReady2Move; 07-18-2015 at 09:03 PM.. Reason: some more detail
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-18-2015, 10:54 PM

1,830 posts, read 1,654,154 times
Paris, Barcelona, Rome, London, Berlin, Helsinki, Riga in that order, allowing that you'll get better accommodation for your budget in the smaller cities. Still, 400 sf in Paris, beats 600 sf in Riga, or whatever the ratio is.

Old 07-19-2015, 04:51 AM
PDF

11,395 posts, read 13,425,232 times