Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Exercise and Fitness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-06-2019, 08:13 AM

21,933 posts, read 9,508,101 times

Advertisements

So I joined a new gym and I am working hard to strengthen my back. I had surgeries and I have scoliosis that was never treated so my back was really starting to get bad. Not pain so much as discomfort. My regular workout was not addressing it.

I have been doing it for about 3 months and everything was going great. The guy who owns the gym is great because he makes you do all this stuff that helps you limber up and then you do the lifting. I have been very careful not to get hurt and taking it slow.

So on Friday, we were doing the dead lifting and they had me at like 55 pounds and I felt fine and like I could do more. They had me add 10 pounds. One rep and I pulled something. I felt like I was going to pass out.

I told the lady because it was not the main guy and she told me a few things to help it and I went home. Monday, I told him I wasn't coming because of the pain and he said come and asked me some questions and had me do some stuff. None of it was painful but it didn't really help either. He wanted me to come yesterday and I said no. He had mentioned me doing a full workout and I knew that wasn't in the cards. So today, I am not going again because I feel like when I walk or sit or stand, the muscle is seizing up and making it continue to hurt. I am sure he would have wanted me to come but getting in and out of the car is excrutiating.