Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Genealogy
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-22-2012, 12:08 PM

10,114 posts, read 19,409,201 times

Advertisements

Well, I'm just beginning at this game of genealogy, poking around to see what i can find.

I did get all the way back to Scotland, seems they were mostly church ministers. Ok, well, I have a geneaology that was in my grandmother's things, I never really looked through it. I re-discovered it last night, gave me goose bumps! parts of it track exactly! The geneaology was done by a distant cousin, now deceased, from that part of the family. what a thrill to see my own work validated.

Also, I have a rather extensive geneaology on my father's side, there again, I didn't pay much attention to it. My family comes somewhat in the middle. There again, I found it tracks! I'm starting to see some of the same names in both! And, they too descend from a long line of Scottish ministers. Watch it bee they knew each other at some point. I plan next to delve into ship manifests, see if they were in the same group coming over, This stuff really draws you in!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-23-2012, 01:43 AM

6,413 posts, read 12,147,004 times
Lines on my maternal family and on my paternal family lived in the same Arkansas county for over a hundred years, and never interacted. They were on opposite sides of a mountain, and apparently never went to the other side!

I've also found two different branches of my family tree living next door to one another in 1850 Illinois.