Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-11-2010, 11:18 AM

2 posts, read 3,895 times

Advertisements

hey,

so I'm a writer writing about two characters from the south. I have family from the south, have been to the south multiple times, etc. I have so much respect for the south that I eventually want to move down there (from the NE). Please don't think I'm using stereotypes to draw out negative characters, but...

The characters I'm creating are very, very dumb/uneducated, and I'm wondering if someone who actually lives in the south can answer a question regarding accent/dialect...

Remember, these characters are the dumbest of the dumb, poorest of the poor, etc...

would an uneducated, poor southerner in any state use the word "done," as in: "I done fell in the mud!" If so, what state would most likely produce such a person?

Please believe me when I say that I have nothing but respect for southerners. In fact, the story is a sort of satirical piece about hollywood's use of southern accents (in Hollywood, it seems, southern accent=dumb).

Also, please believe me when I say that I don't think all/most southerners are dumb. The smartest person I've ever met was from TX; the dumbest person I've ever met was from CT.

Thanks in advance for any/all answers...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-11-2010, 11:33 AM

15,982 posts, read 35,194,653 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by ab1472 View Post
hey,