Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-21-2019, 06:38 AM

60 posts, read 68,921 times

Advertisements

Situation married couple in their thirties earning less than 70,000 per year

Factors:
Taxes( income, property, sales),
Apartment cost
Food cost
Gasoline price
Health insurance
I was thinking Tennessee since i am a resident already there.( no state income tax but they have a food tax almost 10 percent, so maybe i pay less in income tax in another state with low income tax).
Has anyone written an article on this or done the research to know what the best states are?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-21-2019, 02:56 PM

23,688 posts, read 9,386,686 times
I heard MS is the state with the lowest COL.Oklahoma,Arkansas,TN, Indiana,West Virginia, have low costs of living too.there are other cheap states too.

Last edited by C24L; 05-21-2019 at 03:04 PM..

Old 05-21-2019, 03:15 PM

2,752 posts, read 2,408,559 times
Alaska if you're really factoring in *all* states. They basically are paying people to move there as it's so isolated and of course cold.

In the mainland, Wyoming, Florida, New Hampshire, Texas, Tennessee, and South Dakota appear to have the lowest overall tax burden and most likely everything else.

Old 05-21-2019, 03:29 PM

2,752 posts, read 2,408,559 times
This is an interesting link showing a map of each state's income/sales tax rates, as well as spending power:

https://quickbooks.intuit.com/r/the-...es-in-the-u-s/