Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Hobbies and Recreation > Guns and Hunting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-06-2022, 05:25 PM

240 posts, read 241,704 times

Advertisements

I picked up a compound bow last year and am finally getting around to taking up regular range time with it. I have no hunting experience of any kind. I am considering putting in for a Spring black bear tag (Idaho resident) this coming season.

First question, am I out of my mind trying for a Spring black bear archery hunt as my first ever hunting experience? Would this at least be a good learning experience?

Second question, can anyone recommend any good books on Western black bear hunting?

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-06-2022, 06:00 PM

754 posts, read 414,797 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealheadrun23 View Post
I picked up a compound bow last year and am finally getting around to taking up regular range time with it. I have no hunting experience of any kind. I am considering putting in for a Spring black bear tag (Idaho resident) this coming season.

First question, am I out of my mind trying for a Spring black bear archery hunt as my first ever hunting experience? Would this at least be a good learning experience?

Second question, can anyone recommend any good books on Western black bear hunting?

Thanks for the input.