Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-15-2014, 04:19 PM

2 posts, read 1,664 times

Advertisements

Hello there

I am in a bit of a dilemma with a VA home loan application and could use any advice anyone can give me.

I am a veteran applying for a VA home mortgage (this would be my 3rd loan - and all other loans have been fully satisfied). In any case, I had a chapter 7 BK that settled in June of 2011 (3 years ago). Prior to my BK I had credit for well over 15 years with an average of 750 - 780 credit score. The reasons for the BK were medical and loss of employment. Obviously my credit took a hit due to the BK and I knew I had to wait three years to apply for another loan, which I am attempting to do now. Since the BK, my credit has been averaging 670 - 690, according to my loan officer, and my income to debt ratio is only around 20%, which is due to credit cards and a vehicle I purchased in order to reestablish my credit. My LO informs me that I am more than qualified for at least $500K, however, I only need around $350ish. This is because I get paid well and have a long work history.