Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alabama > Huntsville-Madison-Decatur area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-18-2008, 08:19 AM

153 posts, read 380,881 times

Advertisements

Hello all...

I have fallen in love with this area of the state. I never knew such a nice place existed. (born and raised in GA but attended Alabama State University) My question/concerns are:

I am a single mom , age 35 (one child who is 1)
I am a teacher (12 yrs..elementary level)
I would love to start afresh and new

With that being said..

A major part of me would love a career change or at least try another area of education. I have researched jobs and I just dont see where I could possibly fit in with an education degree. I would love to try another field and was wondering if the major companies there are willing to take chances with people and train them..(I AM READY TO LEARN) I have no big issue remaining in education (feeling stuck in a rut these days) But I would love a different spin to what I do.

Also, with me being a single mom doing it all on my own..Im concerned about the costs. (daycare, renting, buying..etc) right now, I do not have a car note, but my credit isnt the bestdue to a rough streak I encountered shortly after the birth of my child that just kept going and going and going.

I am doomed? Do you think people would be willing to work with me? (I am repaying my debts now..through a credit counseling service) Does anyone think that I have a fighting chance on making a move?