Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Investing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-04-2017, 01:10 PM

44 posts, read 63,960 times

Advertisements

I am in a dillema and unsure what to do as I am not very good with finance. I have my ROTH with Edward Jones and lately because of the new rule by DOL, my advisor informed me that they introduced a new flat fee of 1.35% annually of my total fun in my portfolio. Right now, each year I contribute the money, Edward Jones takes 5% commission. So for example, I contribute $10k, EJ takes $500. With the new fee structure, I would pay 1.35% of that $10k plus whatever balance I have in my portfolio. I can't decide what to do. My advisor at EJ said several people prefer that flat fee, but in a long run I just don't feel good about it. If I decide to convert to this new flat fee, EJ will refund the past commission to help pay for the 1.35%. It looks tempting from the sound of it in a short term. To add to it, with the flat fee it will allow my advisor to sell/buy new fund without having to worry about the 5% commission.

So what you all think? Should I stick with the 5% commission each time I contribute or go with this new flat fee? The 5% seems steep, but my fund has been doing okay to a point that I already earn money and break even. I am not sure really and again I am not very good with finance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-04-2017, 01:16 PM

34,145 posts, read 83,188,270 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by citybie View Post
I am in a dillema and unsure what to do...