Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-21-2015, 05:22 PM

363 posts, read 433,473 times

Advertisements

I only have an Associate Degree and certificates. I am new to the IT job field even though my degree is in IT. Currently I work for HP as online tech support where we don't don't deal with phone calls at all. The catch is that I am under contract and the pay is bad, and no benefits. But, if I get hired permanent which should be within 6 months to a year if I don't get laid off, I will go to tier 2 and the pay will be twice what I make. I also enjoy working here.

I got a job offer from Verizon for the same job but dealing but I will be answering some phone calls for companies dealing with Verizon. This is direct hire, no contracts. I will be hired with benefits from day one. Even though I haven't got the job yet, I am still preparing for what I need to do.

I like working at HP, but I am worried I might get laid off soon since they laid off 30,000 this year, also our department hired more than necessary people for the holidays. So I am worried after the holidays they will layoff some of us. I am excited about verizon because it's direct hire, and there may be new opportunities to advance as opposed to HP which only deals with Technical support at our building. But I am also worried the job will be stressful and not liking it or handling it. Regardless of the stress level, I will still do the job.