Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Legal Immigration
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-28-2013, 06:42 PM

1 posts, read 1,344 times

Advertisements

Hello, I am a graduate student at a top-10 US university. I am on a J-1 visa, since I wanted to ‎allow my wife to work on a J-2. I got a job offer, and the company is willing to sponsor me for ‎H1B. The problem is, I won't be eligible for the master's degree on April 1, 2013, and given the ‎expected demand, I will most probably miss the quota by the time I already have the diploma ‎or the letter of completion in hand.‎

So, it pushes me to the next H1B cycle. In the meantime, I am eligible to work - thanks to the J-‎‎1 Academic Training (AT) provision (similar to OPT on F-1 visa), but then I face another ‎problem: even if my H1B is approved in 2014, my Academic Training period expires before ‎October 1, 2014. It means I have a gap of a few months between the end of my AT and the ‎beginning of my H1B.‎

I did some legal research, and as far as I understand, there is no "cap gap" provision for J-1 ‎students, as opposed to F-1 students. ‎