Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Long Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-19-2023, 08:47 AM

11,295 posts, read 18,878,491 times

Advertisements

Hello. My first post in the Long Island forum. I live just north of the Bronx and I've never been to the East End and have always wanted to.

As a teacher, I have time during the summer to visit during less crowded weekdays, but unfortunately my kids (21 and 19, they are both in college) have Monday to Friday summer jobs and neither drive so I have to take them both to and from their jobs (they work in summer day camps located inconveniently from public transportation in that they would have to take multiple buses). As such I'm limited to the weekend.

I had made up my mind that this was the summer I would do it, but too many weekends so far had too high a chance of rain to make the trip. But this weekend is looking stunning. Here was my plan:

1) Leave Saturday at 7am to go to Montauk, hoping everyone would've left on Friday and worst case I'd get there at 11am (Google Maps says 2.5 to 3 hours if no traffic but I know better). Explore around.

2) Drive from there to Orient Point in the early afternoon, explore more and get the New London Ferry at maybe 5 or 6pm.

3) Stay in the New London area in a motel and drive back from CT during Sunday, maybe making some stops along the way like perhaps in New Haven.