Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Louisiana > New Orleans
 [Register]
New Orleans New Orleans - Metairie - Kenner metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-21-2010, 12:11 PM

3 posts, read 6,440 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to New Orleans and wondering where the best hospital for kids is? I know there's Children's, Oschner, Tulane Medical... are there any others?

Should I just go to the closest one or is someplace better?

Any ideas on the size of these places or the reputation of the doctors there?

Thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-21-2010, 12:40 PM

19,855 posts, read 65,818,191 times
For what kind of problem? Is there a chronic condition? Are you just worrying for some possible future event?

Old 03-21-2010, 01:08 PM

for a child who is prone to be sick a lot and potential hospitilization. why, do the different hospitals have different areas of strength?

Old 03-21-2010, 02:12 PM

19,855 posts, read 65,818,191 times
Not sure if this is currently valid: I think of Children's more as a hospital for the chronically ill or genetic problems. Both Tulane and Ochsner have pediatric emergency rooms. Really, your doctor will decide which hospital you use as not all have privileges at all hosp. Also, they are pretty spread out in the city, or driving distance might be an issue.

Old 03-21-2010, 02:55 PM

thanks for the advice. i'd appreciate anyone's thoughts on the hospitals.

Old 03-21-2010, 06:05 PM

1,127 posts, read 5,009,080 times