Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-30-2014, 02:27 PM

36,499 posts, read 54,093,051 times

Advertisements

This is a very generous landlord. No wonder her tenants rarely leave.

No pet, no apartment at North Hollywood complex
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2014, 02:40 PM

14,784 posts, read 24,090,712 times
I don't know why all landlords cant be like this .

Old 07-01-2014, 02:53 PM

36,499 posts, read 54,093,051 times
I'm a landlord and i wish I could be like this but I've had some bad experiences with tenants and dogs and even one with 3 cats.

I rent to graduate students and am lucky to have renters for more than 2 years. My duplexes have all hardwoods and some have been ruined by dog scratches and urine. Do you know how expensive it is to have hardwood floors refinished professionally!!!

One lady had 3 cats and during a surprise inspection( we had to be in there for A/C when she called from work) we found 2 litter trays which looked like they hadn't been emptied in 2 months. Litter and feces on the floor in the kitchen no less...very nasty indeed.

After that I had to make a no pet rule. Sometimes I go over there and see a cat hanging around a door but since I have no way of knowing who cat belongs to I don't say anything.

This wonderful lady has tenants who tend to stay decades. If it would keep tenants under lease longer I might reconsider but I don't think it would make much difference with my units.

Old 09-29-2014, 07:52 AM

428 posts, read 643,807 times