Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-21-2022, 05:42 PM

75 posts, read 64,313 times

Advertisements

I live in the Research Triangle and Pittsburgh has consistently been an interest of mine.

I keep getting recommended Philly over it though.

The biggest con I see of the area is the weather. I'd have to lean to adjust.

For IT, are there good job options? I heard there had been layoffs recently in the city which was a concern.
I have 3 years experience and will have a CCNA cert next year. I know it wont have as many jobs as Philly, but results only still show many jobs.

Seems like the best CoL city I've almost every seen. Must be because the more people are dieing there then being born or moving there. Which makes me wonder why? the weather?

How is biking? I've been told its terrible and dangerous. Are there good places to gravel, road, and mtb?

Im guessing its not a "bike yourself to work" city though. Not like Philly where you can live without a car.

does the city have a political leaning? Do more progressive people feel welcome? someone one some online subreddit said there was a bunch of racists, but I assume they ran into the wrong person?

Okay the weather. That has to put a damper on biking? What do people do during the winter? I hear its just clouds for months.