Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-12-2017, 09:57 PM

1 posts, read 514 times

Advertisements

Hello!

My name is Juan Rosado and I just moved to Dallas Fort Worth (DFW) to work as a civil engineer. Nowadays I am saving money to get my first Real Estate deal. I graduated from the University of Puerto Rico in May 2017 and during this period a friend recommended that I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad. After that I have been listening to Bigger Pockets podcast and reading Real Estate books. This is my current starting plan: save up to 20% of my net salary for the down payment of my first deal in approximately one and a half years ($15k more or less). Also, I would like for this deal to be a multifamily. Moreover, due to the high downpayments these types of properties requieres I would need to find a business partner. It is worth mentioning that besides my current student loan, I have no credit whatsoever (don't know if this would be an issue when I apply for mortgages). Once I obtain my first property I will continue to find more deals on my own or with different partners. My long-term goal (6 years) is to manage 11 units earning a monthly cashflow of $4.4k ($52.8k/year). I would be extremely grateful if I could get feedback on this plan. I am brand new on this but I try to study everyday the business of Real Estates and see how can I find a nice deal to start with.

Thank you in advance and I wish you the best in your investing journey.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2017, 05:45 AM