Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 09:56 AM

1 posts, read 8,723 times

Advertisements

My husband I have been renting a home for 5 months, we never signed a lease or gave a security deposit. Everything was month-to-month verbal agreement only between me, my husband and the landlord. My husband and I told the landlord we would be moving in the next month or so [this was mid-march], by the beginning of April I was at a Realtor company looking for houses, in which the Realtor company called him to let him know... then 2 weeks ago I let him know face-to-face that I was moving. I had all my belongings out on April 30th and all utilities cut off. He is threatening to sue me for ''lack of intent to inform in 30 days'' for MAY's rent, when we all had a verbal agreement that I was leaving... and then threatening me for professional cleaning done to the house, when I cleaned myself.. but was never given instructions on what to clean and how, because there was no lease... I need advice, please help. We are not from California and do not know the Renters Rights or Laws. THANK YOU
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-02-2008, 12:41 PM

7,474 posts, read 22,884,016 times
You are required to give a written 30 day notice to quit the apartment. It would have been nice for him to inform you he needs the notice in writing when you told him, but he didn't. It was still your responsibility to do so.